Metal Workshop…

We learned how to cut, bend and blast aluminium in the workshop today. First we had to cut the metal into two lines this time so I used a scribe to draw the lines with as a pen would not work this time. I used a guillotine thread to cut the metal although I found it hard to use at first as I did not put enough pressure on the lever so the cut went wobbly. Here is the aluminium cut:

rsz_21.jpg

Aluminium cut into three pieces

After cutting I sanded the edges with the wet and dry stuff as the material is not very thick and works well on that sort of sandpaper. I masking taped a piece of aluminium to use in the Grit blaster which is similar to sandblasting but just a different material.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I used the roller machines to add curves to my piece to try a different technique on the aluminium. Here is my try I got it stuck in machine before hand so had to have help to understand how to work the machine:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally I used the Pan/Box folder to fold the aluminium with straight lines as shown in the pictures below:

metal-workshop-2

Box folded metal

metal-workshop-12

Box folded metal

~Emily~

 

Leave a Reply

