Concept board…

In the lesson we started to do our concept board which we then have to finish for homework. Our first task was to decide a key word out of the list on the hand out and I chose Geometric and Contemporary for my driver for my board. I did a mind map of the key words first:

DSC_0329.JPG

Contemporary/Geometric mindmap

Then I did a little materials mind map as well:

mindmap

Mind map

I researched some key images to help with inspiration from the websites listed on the slideshow such as Dezeen, Coolhunting, Coolhunter and Design Boom. Here are the pictures I have decided on:

I experienced with a piece of paper which gave me an idea by folding an A3 corners into triangles and repeating that on all sides. However I did not like this piece at this point in the process so I got rid of it, even though it influenced one of my models later on.

DSC_0321.JPG

Sketchmodel experiment

Also this book gave me some ideas on how to fold paper in geometric shapes:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I produced two sketchmodels from the inspiration above having geometric shapes in mind when producing them:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I choose the image on the left to do a sketchvisual with and made it into a garden centre:

I got all my photos and pieces ready to compile onto my A3 board. I got my mini sketchmodel on the piece, a colour palette along the side, a piece of art called toletsigns2016, 2016 by Phyllida Barlow. Also I used font from word which was Castellar at 28 size font, photograph of my sketchmodel,sketchvisual and of a material.

 

concept board (1).JPG

Finished concept board

Summary:

This is a professional way to show your ideas to your clients in a quick, easy way. It handy technique to use to get as many ideas and materials down as possible. I enjoyed the process of this piece and how it all colour co-ordinates on the board.

Bibliography:

 

~Emily~

Leave a Reply

