Response piece…

We have to produce a sketch model and sketch visual and my topic is a perfume shop. I looked online for inspiration and I drew a mind map in my sketchbook of the ideas I came up with:

mindmap

Mind map

I did a few drawings as well to give me ideas for shapes to do my model as shown in the picture below:

drawing ideas page.JPG

Drawing ideas

I experimented with a few ideas in the lesson with paper but nothing really worked so I had a little break and going to try again. I added  some scale people to my models to give perspective and scale to the model.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Eventually I got an idea which I combined a few of my ideas together as shown below on the drawing and photo:

I used the idea from the photos above and created my sketch model as shown below:

perfume inspired model (8).JPG

Sketch model in full view

I then took a few photos of my model from different angles but mainly eye level for my sketch visual. On a few of the images I added light from my phone and lamp lights to show shadows within the model. Also I used flash on some to see how they would turn out and night mode of my camera settings. Here are my photos below in the slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I took some photos on my phone as well as my camera at eye level so the camera was level with the worktop. This is how they turned out:

I choose this photo as I liked the lighting on the model plus the bends and curves worked well to make a space.

 

used-for-sketchvisual

Chosen model for sketch visual

 

My space is going to be a rescue centre with shop a which displays the items you can buy for the animals you rescue. I have added a few animals on the image to show what range of animals are in the centre.

 

p1060677

A rescue centre and shop sketch visual

 

Summary:

This process I went through is how interior designers have to think of when given a subject to produce a space with. I enjoyed the whole process of how a simple subject can turn into a model and then become a space. By model making the idea it further abstracts the idea once you start using other techniques which can help develop your work.

~Emily~

Leave a Reply

