Sketchmodels time…

The lesson was all about making models and manipulating your material into different shapes and sizes. We were asked to bring in any scrap materials we had and if you didn’t have any then to just use paper. Our first task was to reproduce a ‘Sign’chair by Piergiorgio Cazzaniga using just paper in 5 minutes, here are my attempts:

Second task we had use influences from the ‘Hotel Marques De Riscal’ by Frank Gehry in 5 minutes, here is my attempt:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Third task I had to do my take on ‘Centre of Contemporary Art’ by Zaha Hadid in 10 minutes, but this time I used coloured card, here is my attempt:

Fourth task we had to reproduce the ‘Bridge of Aspiration’ by Royal Ballet School London in 15 minutes, here is my attempt:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second exercise we had to do was interpret the patterns we were given and make them 3D by adding paper shapes to them. I stuck both my pictures to cardboard to give it a sturdier surface. The first one we couldn’t have any curves in the model and build up from the shapes given in 25 minutes as shown in the photos below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This time I was given circles not squares so I wasn’t aloud to add straight lines in the model, I had 25 minutes to produce it here is my attempt:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the final task we were given 15 minutes to respond to a video of a skater in a skate park and this is my response to it:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Summary:

I learned from the lesson is that you can make models in response to things you see or be inspired by the forms around you.

~Emily~

Leave a Reply

